New York State Driving Without Insurance

Driving Without Auto Insurance In New York

It's plain and simple if you drive in New York, you need auto insurance. The law requires very driver to carry valid liability auto insurance when they get behind the wheel.

In New York, drivers are required to have 25/50/10 liability coverage. This means your auto insurance policy covers up to $25,000 per person per incident in bodily injury liability, $50,000 per incident in bodily injury liability, plus $10,000 in property damage liability.

The penalties for driving without insurance in New York can include fines, license suspension, and payments to other drivers.

Fines

New York courts can slap uninsured drivers with fines and surcharges if you're convicted of driving without liability coverage. The penalty for driving without insurance in New York could start with a fine of $150 and spring up to $1500! All this will be determined by the court based upon your New York Driving Record and your number of previous convictions.

New York Driver's License Suspensions

It's easy to forget that driving is a privilege, and with it comes certain responsibilities. Carrying auto insurance is one of them. If you're caught driving without liability insurance, your driver's license could be suspended for up to one year, or even longer.

Civil Penalties

As an uninsured motorist, you could be held responsible for paying thousands of dollars out of pocket to other drivers. If you drive in New York without auto insurance, you could be forced to cover the cost of fixing another driver's car, his or her hospital bills, and any other expenses. If there are multiple vehicles or people involved in the accident, you could be facing a devastating financial situation.

Higher Insurance Premiums

You might think that rolling the dice and driving without insurance is a good way to save money. Wrong! Not only will you be facing a list of fees and payments, but if you're caught, you will then be forced to get insurance and now you'll have to pay even more for coverage! It's much wiser to simply have the coverage you need at all times, and pay a reasonable premium.

Surrender Vehicle Registration and License Plates

According to the New York Vehicle and Traffic Code, drivers who do not have auto insurance, or whose insurance is cancelled, are required to turn their vehicle registration and license plates over to the DMV. If you don't update your insurance or turn over your vehicle plate, the DMV has the authority to suspend your registration, along with your license.

More Articles & News

 

Register Now